Robyn Thoroughman (Lindenwood University) was announced as an award winner by the Missouri Association for College of Educator Preparation, an award presented to outstanding new teachers.

Melissa Corey, Library Media Specialist at Robidoux Middle School (St. Joseph) was named a 2023 School Librarian of the Year finalist by Scholastic and School Library Journal (SLJ). Every year, the School Librarian of the Year Award recognizes the outstanding work of K–12 library professionals. Those who receive this recognition have demonstrated an exemplary use of technology and print materials to not only successfully engage students in learning and fostering literacy, but to also spark new ideas within their school and community.

Madison Wandrey, a student teacher at Hallsville Primary School, received the Missouri Teacher Leaders of Tomorrow award sponsored by the Missouri Milken Educators. This award honors new student teachers in the profession. Madison will be paired with a Missouri Milken Educator who will mentor and support her during her first year of teaching.

Julie Thomas (Dallas County R-1), along with the rest of the Beau Fournier Memorial Fund, was honored with the Friend of Education award at the SWRTA Spring TEPS. This award recognized efforts made by the Fund to benefit the students of Dallas County, including providing school supplies, food and hygiene products, birthday books and scholarships.

Dr. Beth Winton (Columbia Public Schools) and Phillip Reed (Northwest R-1) were selected by the National History Day organization as the two nominees for the state of Missouri in candidacy for the Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year Award. Each state nominee receives a $500 prize, and the two national winners receive $10,000 each. “This award recognizes the very best educators from across the nation and beyond,” said National History Day Executive Director Dr. Cathy Gorn. “These educators are leaders and innovators in the teaching of history. They engage their students with hands-on, inquiry-based learning with primary sources.”

Columbia Public Schools recently honored local educators with the Columbia Fund for Academic Excellence. MSTA members who were recognized with this award are: Casey Cottrill (Pre-K through 2nd), Beth Diggs (3rd through 5th) and Lisa Rieken (specialized area).

Linda Fowler (Northwest R-1), was named Missouri Elementary Art Educator of the Year for 2023 by the Missouri Art Education Association.

Emily Daniel (Nevada R-5) was awarded the 2023 New Teacher of the Year Award by the Missouri Educators of Family and Consumer Sciences and Human Services (MoEFCS). The award was given in recognition of Daniel's many contributions to Career and Technical education.



David Bond, Associate Executive Director/ Director of Member Services, will retire effective July 1, celebrating 30 years with MSTA. He looks forward to spending more time with his family and five grandchildren.

Erin Burnham, Member Service Coordinator, will retire effective July 1 after 15 years with MSTA. She plans to hang out with her favorite people (family) all the time and travel whenever she has the chance.