The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) has announced the 17 Regional Teachers of the Year who have been selected as semi-finalists for the 2023 Missouri Teacher of the Year award. The Teacher of the Year program spotlights the positive impact excellent teachers have on their students. Among these semi-finalists are six MSTA members:

Crystal Eldred, Butler R-V

Kristina Kohl, Lindbergh

Jacki Lee, Branson R-IV

Dylan Noble, Belton 124

Matthew Pierce Matheney V, Miller R-II

Lindsey Watson, Blue Springs R-IV

These honorees will continue in the selection process in accordance with the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. The winner will be announced later this fall.