The Missouri State Teachers Association held its 160th Assembly of Delegates in Columbia, Mo., on Thursday, Nov. 17. There were 480 delegates from across the state who voted on officers and resolutions for the association.

            Pam Lowe (Sikeston R-6) was elected president-elect, and Amy Kelsey (East Buchanan C-1) was elected as vice president. 

                    The assembly approved proposed resolutions about funding teacher salaries and career ladder and clarifying the opposition to open enrollment. The delegates also approved changes to the bylaws

            Outgoing president Chuck Martin (Bolivar R-1) oversaw the proceedings, and he passed the gavel to  Stacy Blakley (St. James R-1), who took over the position of President on Friday.