Now more than ever is the time to celebrate all people in education! We have been through several challenging issues and situations recently, yet we have persevered - it’s time to celebrate. The Southwest Region is excited to open the nomination window for Educator, Rookie, Associate of the Year and Friend of Education Awards.

CTAs are encouraged to nominate one member in each of the categories. An easy to complete Google Form will be used for each submission. A letter of recommendation will be secured by the CTA on behalf of the nominee. Letters may be requested from any individual, except a current member of the Southwest Board of Directors. The CTA president is not required to write the letter. Upon receipt of the form from the CTA, the nominee will be contacted to provide a brief personal narrative.

The SWRTA Awards Committee will continue to evaluate and score all submissions.

SWRTA will present up to two awards for Educator of the Year: one to an Elementary (Pre-K thru 6th grade) and one to a Secondary (7th thru 12th grade). Elementary and Secondary Educator of the Year recipients will receive a plaque, $500 and $250 to the educator’s CTA.

The Rookie Educator of the Year recipient will receive a plaque and a $250 cash award. Applicants must not have taught more than five years. The recipient of the Associate Member of the Year will receive a plaque and a $250 cash award.

All nominees must be current members of the state MSTA and local CTA organizations. Educator nominees must be full-time and certfield. SWRTA Board of Directors are not eligible to be nominated for five years after serving on the board.

Those who have received an award in a specific category are not eligible to be nominated in that category again.

For those in your community who have given time and resources to the cause of education, you may nominate them for Friend of Education. You may nominate an individual, a group or a business that has supported education in your community.

Previously awarded individuals, groups and/or businesses are not eligible.

Awards will be presented at Spring TEPS, April 24, 2023 at the DoubleTree Convention Center, Springfield, MO. You must be present to win.

All applications must be submitted electronically by March 16, 2023

Please direct any questions or comments to the SWRTA Event Coordinator, Lisa Christianson at or text 417-234-7914.

Links to applications:

Educator of the Year Form

Rookie of the Year Form

Associate of the Year Form

Friend of Education Form